notrace.im is a way to send messages to people via email or text message that disappear and are deleted forever. The message itself can only be viewed for a very brief period of time before it vanishes and is completely erased from our servers.
A sender opens the app and sends a message to one or multiple recipients. The recipients then get an email or text notification that they have a confidential message waiting for them. The recipient clicks on the link (opening a portal to our server) where the recipient can view the message for a short period before it disappears forever. The message stays visible to the recipient anywhere between 10 and 50 seconds, depending on the length of the message.
The brilliance of notrace.im versus traditional messaging systems is that the message never leaves our server. Traditional messaging transmits a message from one device to another device. Once the message is transmitted to another device the sender loses control of that message. The message can then be forwarded on, printed, saved forever, etc. With notrace.im the message stays on our server where we can control it and erase it. notrace.im gives the sender control!
notrace.im is for everyone. It is a tool for anyone who uses text or email that is mindful that messages they send can be stored forever and traced back to them. notrace.im provides freedom. It gives you the ability to deliver a private message to someone via electronic messaging...much like a whisper!
notrace.im messages aren't just deleted, they are scrubbed and completely erased. We use a very thorough process of completely removing the messages from our servers as soon as the viewing period is up.
People are becoming more and more aware of their digital footprint. How many times have you accidentally sent a text or email that backfired on you? Who else did that text or email get shared with? How much of your communication has the government captured? notrace.im is not a replacement for the everyday use of email and text, it is an option when you have a very important or private message that you want to keep just between you and your recipient.
Yes - as long as the recipient has not viewed the message.
As soon as you click unsend then the message is erased from the server.
When the recipient goes to read the message it is no longer available to them.
Again - how many times have you hit send and immediately realized you sent something to the wrong person by accident! notrace.im has the answer!
This is a very good question. Your name never appears on the message the recipient views. There is no "To" or "From" field. Even if someone did a screen shot of the message there is no way to prove the message came from you and by that time the message has been completely erased from our servers.
The brilliance of notrace.im
versus traditional messaging systems is that the message never leaves our server.
When using notrace.im, the sender can be confident that
the only recipient is the person or persons intended.
There is no hijacking, spamming, or intercepting sent messages.
And, if it's an 'oops', you can take it back as long
as the recipient has not viewed it.
Traditional messaging transmits a message from one device to another device. Once the message is transmitted to another device the sender loses control of that message. The message can then be forwarded on, printed, saved forever, etc. With notrace.im the message stays on our server where we can control it and erase it. notrace.im gives the sender control!
You will find us in the Apple App Store and the Google Play Store listed under notrace.im.
Using the website? On the home screen we have a "Sign Up Now" button
that allows you to enter your email, password, phone number and how you found us.
Once you hit submit you're ready to start sending messages.
Using the app? In the app we simplified the process. On the settings page you fill out the fields with your email, password and phone number. Once you hit the 'GO' button you will be registered and ready to start sending messages.
Using the website? Simply log in and you will go to the write page.
Using the app? Click the write button on the navigation bar at the bottom of the screen to go to the write page.
Then fill out who you are sending the message to, the message, and check if you want to sign the message with your username. That's it. Just hit send and we handle the rest.
When sending your message, there is a small checkbox below your message that says 'Sign it'. If you uncheck that box while sending your message, the recipient will recieve a message from 'a user at notrace', keeping your identity safe.
Using the website? Simply log in and you will see the messge center on the write page.
Using the app? Click the status button on the navigation bar at the bottom of the screen to see the message center.
From the message center, you can see part of the unread messages you sent and who you sent it to. The cool thing is since the messages disappear when someone reads them, you can tell if someone read the message because it will disappear from your message center.
Using the Website? Simply log in. From there you can see which messages have not been read.
Using the app? Click the status button on the navigation bar at the bottom of the screen.
Next to each message there are unsend buttons that, once clicked, will wipe the message from existence.
Using the website? Simply log in. This will take you to the write page.
On the top of the page there is a settings link.
When you click the settings link you will be taken to a page to enter your new desired password.
Hit save and you're done.
Using the app? Our 'GO' button will handle that for you. Navigate back to the settings page, change your password on the screen and hit the 'GO' button and that's it.
Yes. Simply send your request (include your phone number) to firstname.lastname@example.org
You can contact us at email@example.com
Send a notrace message, or email, to firstname.lastname@example.org and let us know what you think. You can post to our facebook page or tweet #notraceim. Rate notrace.im on Google Play or the Apple App Store. If you have any issues or suggestions, let us know what they are. We are always looking for ways to improve!
notrace.im is not a replacement for email or text, but it is a unique tool that allows you to send a private message that remains private!